How do i use my ext. Rack gear with my Digital recorder??

hey guys,

just to say im not a newbie...lol.. i've made probably 200 recordings within the last year..but i no almost nothing about the whole AUX thing and using outboard effects so im trying to make my self learn because i know it can be used for alot of cool things.

here's my question. I have a Roland vs-2480 DAW, i've been recording on it for a little over a year and i love it, the effects are pretty good too, but i also have this rack mount of about $1000 worth of pre-amps, eqs and dynamics that i used to use before i bought the Roland, and i hate to see that rack stuff sit in my studio and collect dust. The piece that i would like to use most is the ART TPS pre-amp, but alot of times im lazy and i would just rather plug the mic right into the roland insted of climbing behind the rack and hooking up the pre-amp.

well the other night i got to thinking when i was moving some stuff around. "AUX SENDS" i turned the roland around and located the following jacks: "AUX A and B left and right" and i found these cables that spilt into 2 ends with "Tip" and "Ring" on the ends of them. i've heard a while back that these cables are used for AUX sends, or inserting effects, but im not sure if that's true, like i said i know nothing about this field.

Anyways sorry for the long post, if your still here then thanks so much for reading and i hope you can help me out!

Zeke

aux aside,
Run your mics through your rack gear and into an A/D converter, then go digitally into the Roland. If there is no Digi in, just run it in mic-rack-line and keep the Roland pre turned all the way down. There will be some degredation of signal but I believe it will br negligible.