A/d Converter Question

dzara 4

I am new at recording and currently have a focurite ISA 220 channel
strip which I use on my front-end which goes directly into my aw1600 workstation. This is my signal chain currently

MIC ----> Focurite 220-----> AW1600 recorder

I decided to buy a Mac G5 for editing. I can transport vis USB after I record
onto my aw1600.

The question I have is about my A/D converter on my AW1600 being up to par for getting

a "good" signal or better phrased "how much better would my sound be
compared to a more advanced A/D converter. Here are the spec on my aw1600

AD Converter 24 Bit Linear / 64 Times Oversampling
DA Converter 24 Bit Linear / 128 Times Oversampling

Sampling Frequency 44.1kHz (-6% ~ +6%) Internal Clock
44.1kHz (-10% ~ +6%) External Clock

should I spend the money to buy a seperate audio interface and A/D converter once I get my computer. Or does the A/D converter not make that much of a difference, which in that case I would hook up my AW1600
to a computer via USB cord and just transfer the files.

any suggestions would be helpful .

thanks

it's all subjective and alot of guys (or gals) will say to get a good d/a converter first. i have a cheapo 1010lt so i can't comment on what good converters sound like. i do think that monitoring should be a top priority and should i decide to upgrade, a good dac will be at the top of my list.

While I'm not familiar with the sound of the converters in the AW1600, I think a couple of questions are;
Will you want to be doing synchronous playback and editing of individual tracks on the Mac (synced to the AW1600), and is that possible and robust with the USB link?

What does your mic and pre wardrobe look like, and if the above question is satisfied, does it make sense to put upgrade money towards converters right now, or is it needed more elsewhere?

I hope that all made sense.