Can someone explain a mic preamp in non technical terms?

Hard2Hear

I have been wondering about this for some time. I am a musician and artist, not an engineer by any means. I'm wondering if someone out there knows enough about how mic pre amps actually are built and work to explain all the components in laymens terms...no really technical jargon.

Lets take for example a simple burr brown based mic pre amp. What is in that thing to make everything work? I know there's in and out connectors, and a chip to amplify the signal (this is the burr brown?) but honestly, outside of that I get pretty lost.

I need someone who has enough knowledge to explain it simply, input to output. Any builder or manufacturer welcome in this thread. If you can explain what happens in your product that would be helpful. Let's not get into eq and compressors, just a mic preamp. Let's try this question too. What is the bare minimum of components you have to have to properly amp a mic?

H2H

Most of us recording folks don’t build them; we just turn them on and use them.

Is this your homework assignment? You might want to try an electronics engineering forum of some sort.

Sorry man.

I think I've been here long enough to know what this forum is about, thanks.

I like to know how stuff I pay lots of money for works.

H2H

Hard2Hear said:
Lets take for example a simple burr brown based mic pre amp. What is in that thing to make everything work? I know there's in and out connectors, and a chip to amplify the signal (this is the burr brown?) but honestly, outside of that I get pretty lost.

Yes, the chip amplifies the signal. The chip is an operational amplifier circuit ("opamp"), so called because apparently they are useful for math :confused: but who cares? This is audio!

Anyway, an opamp is an integrated circuit that contains, among other things, transistors. It's the transistors that amplify the signal.

Lots more on opamps:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opamp