yamaha aw2816 vs 4416

burgundyband

I just picked up the yamaha 2816 and think it's great. I read the the dsp chips are better on the 2816 than the 4416. Otherwise, the 4416 has 16 individual faders, meter bridge, and sampling pads. I am wondering if there are any other differences and if anyone thinks it is worth an extra $500 for the 4416.

Thanks.

ps-green hornet: you should work for yamaha. your enthusiasm on the product was one of the deciding factors over other daw's(plus the moving faders and 24 bit on 16 channels)

thanks again.

Yo BurgundyBand or {WINE?}:}

Yamaha is, while I post, doing upgrades on the 4416 to give it the same uplifts that come on the 2816.

I don't work for Yamaha but I should. I'm a retired English Composition teacher and I'm sure I could do a much better job on the manuals. I just believe that Yamaha believes the only folks who buy these units are engineers!

This is my third Yamaha recorder; in between there were two Tascam 488's but they, of course were not digital.

Hope you read page 12 in the "thick" instruction manual for the 2816 -- REQUIRES THAT YOU SHUT DOWN THE UNIT IN A SEQUENCE OF STEPS OR YOU MIGHT DAMAGE THE HARD DRIVE.

If you go to the Yamaha site on the net and fill out their registration form, they will send you a free video for operating the 2816 or 4416.

When I got my unit, the vendor was hot to sell me the "upgrade" 4416. Harder unit to run and I don't think for most purposes it can do any more than the 2816, especially as far as sound quality.

How about posting me via E-mail some simplified steps for recording, mixing, and then going to CD, if you've gone that far.

Good luck and I'm sure we will both enjoy the units, eventually.
That old learning curve you know.

Green Hornet
Benmocini@aol.com

my personal comparison shopping

right now i'm just fiddling with the preset song and being hypnotized by the motorized faders.