Headphones to Buy

luizfvpereira

Hello guys

I'm an authentic noob in what concerns Headphones. I can understand differences when hearing with different headphones however I don't understand that just by reading the specifications.
So I come to ask you (because you probably know a lot more than me on this subject) some headphones you would suggest for the following:

- Hear what sound a microphone is producing (something like a monitor but in headphone).
- Hear music, final mixing and mastering results and also music just for relax :)
- Hear me playing the piano

The only aspect I want is to not go very expensive on them... Around 120$ tops.

Thank you for the attention.
Luís Pereira.

I have a pair of Shure SRH840s that I like a lot. Though I do sometimes use them for mixing, please know that mixing and mastering with headphones is a really bad idea and you should use monitors (I have a pair of KRK Rokit 8s for that purpose). The phones have a nice low end, non-shrill high-end and solid middle. I find they have a good tone and don't color the music -- makes them good for listening to music.

Monitors over Headphones then?
I was aiming for the headphones because, sadly, I don't have any room with sound isolation... Isn't that going to be a problem?

Monitors over Headphones then?
I was aiming for the headphones because, sadly, I don't have any room with sound isolation... Isn't that going to be a problem?
A properly-treated room is, of course, preferable. However, a good set of near-fields will be a vast improvement over headphones for mixing almost anywhere you use them. The room in which I mix isn't sound-treated, but the difference between the mixes I used to do with headphones only and what I can do now with the Rokits is dramatic.

I like the Audio Technica ATH m50. They can be found around that price. Sound good, rugged, repairable. We used to use Sony's at our studio but for tracking they