The wrist bone is connected to the hand bone; help with MIDI and USB concepts/setup

f. lai

I'm trying to get involved with MIDI. Here's what I have: 4 Keyboards that are MIDI compatible, a keyboard that is NOT MIDI compatible, and a drum machine that is MIDI compatible. Assuming I get a DAW computer running Cubase SX or Sonar, a Delta Layla 1010 soundcard, what hookups do I need to have everything connected via MIDI. I also assume I need a USB connector? I'm a little green as far as understanding what the use of USB is in all this? Help appreciated.

I'm new at MIDI too, and I don't know anything about connecting multiple keyboards to a single sound card. If all you want to do is connect *one* of the keyboards, you don't need USB; you just need a MIDI cable from the MIDI OUT on the keyboard to the MIDI IN on the sound card. (My apologies if you already know that; we've just exhausted my knowledge on the subject. <g>)

USB is just one of the many types of "ports" used by various computers - others are parallel, serial, MIDI, and in some cases firewire, also known as IEEE 1394, and some other names by some other manufacturers.

To get just one MIDI device connected to your computer, or a few more if "daisychained", all you need is a joystick (game) port on your sound card. There are cables available that convert the DB15 connector on the back of a standard sound card to MIDI in and out. This gives you only one MIDI port, and this port is usually only found on sound cards that get laughed at on serious music forums.