searching a simple software based midi-only sequencer

Django2014

Hello,

I am looking for a light-weight software based midi-only sequencer, I don't need to record audio. I am no midi expert, so my requirements are not very precise, but let's give it a try.
- I intend mainly to record drums with it and an occasional background organ or a horn section. Audio I record on a recorder.
- I will use VST modules for drums and other instruments so it needs a VST interface
- It needs to be able to sync to an external clock (being a slave)
- It needs to be able to send out a midi clock signal to a device that translates this into audio. I will be using a pocket sequencer for this. I will record the midi clock onto a digital non-midi recorder. On playback, the recorder will send out the recorded signal, have the pocket sequencer translate it to a midi clock signal to which the sequencer will have to sync (hence the requirement to be able to run on a external clock)
- although I intend to keep it very basic (it will be used for making demo's and song sketches) some extra features like quantization would come in handy

There is an awful lot available, but most of it is packed with features I don't need. So if someone could point me to a lightweight sequencer that would be highly appreciated.

Cheers,

Django

Reaper.

You're not going to find anything "easy".
MIDI was made bit slide-rule bit head programmers in the 1970s; it's gonna be a chore...

Reaper is a complete studio, in my perception the open source version of Cubase and the likes. I have already seen midi sequencers that are a lot simpler, but maybe someone here can point me to an even more stripped down basic version.