Problems with MIDI keyboard, no signal in DAW.

Do you have any other MIDI hardware device you can hook up to check the keyboard output, like a drum machine or synth module?

No I don't. I'm just starting out in home recording. I'll maybe have to try and bring my Tascam to a music store and try another keyboard.

Insert a VSTi into the Reaper track so that your keyboard has something to "play".

Last edited:
Insert a VSTi into the Reaper track so that your keyboard has something to "play". Also (don't know if this has been covered already) hit the "monitor" button on the track you're trying to record on.

Insert a VSTi into the Reaper track so that your keyboard has something to "play". Also (don't know if this has been covered already) hit the "monitor" button on the track you're trying to record on.

I've tried all of that but with no luck.
But shouldn't I at least see the signal on my track's meter (the little red line) coming from my keyboard even if I have no sounds selected ?

I doubt this is it but...

In my (properly functioning) Reaper/Midi setup, in Preferences/MIDI Devices window, I do NOT have "Restrict MIDI hardware output to single thread" ticked... (???)

Right click on the record button on the channel your working on. Do you have the following chosen?

Monitor: Input

Record: Input (audio or MIDI)

Input: MIDI: Tascam 122

Switch USB inputs on your pc. Change USB cables. I've had both of these moves solve frustrating issues in the past.

fingerscrossed.gif

If MIDI-OX doesn't show that any MIDI signals are being received, then I doubt it's anything in Reaper [edit: assuming the desired MIDI input source was selected in MIDI-OX]. It seems more likely that it's something to do with the installation of the Tascam's driver, or possibly the configuration of the Tascam on the computer (if there is any such setup to be done) [edit: or the MIDI cable connecting the keyboard to the Tascam, or the MIDI settings within the keyboard].

Hello...