Note or Sound Dropouts

HRmusic90

21st Century Digital Boy
Hello, I'm new to MIDI. Right now the only MIDI device I have is my Alesis SR-16 drum machine. It's the original one I bought back in 95! I have it hooked up to my PreSonus FireStudio Mobile and I track in Acid.
I've been re-recording my old beats and saving them as MIDI files. When I piece them together and play along to make sure I got everything right, sometimes one of my drum pads won't sound. It's random - sometimes a kick, sometimes a snare, and the actual occurrences are random as well. The first play-through might be missing some elements, the next time it will play through with no problems.
Is it a PreSonus, Acid or SR-16 thing? Or something else?

I've experienced a similar MIDI problem from time to time.

Usually it's because of a midi note extending over the start of a following note so that the following note doesn't sound.

So, I was hoping I would have nothing to add to this thread, but apparently I was wrong. This note dropout thing is getting annoying now that I'm finally trying to lay down some tracks. I try to convert my MIDI output to wavs but it's useless as a track with the occasional missing kick or hi-hat.
Could the MIDI-note-extending thing apply here? Seeing as it's a drum machine, I figured there would be no note lengths to speak of.
Is there a definite cause of this?

Could latency have anything to do with it? I increased the buffer size and it seemed to help, but I thought the result of latency problems was distortion, clicks, or gapping - not note-ignoring.

Would you outline the exact process you are using? That way it may be possible to figure out where things are goping bad.