Need Help with a Midi/track output issue

Resurrect

I'm not sure if this is a MIDI issue, or an issue with Reaper, but I figured that since I've only had the issue while attempting MIDI, I'd put it here.

I have my Alesis Q49 hooked up to my Presonus Firestudio Project and my laptop. I have the MIDI track on my reaper workstation set for the MIDI input from the Firestudio Project. Reaper is receiving the signal when I play the keyboard, but I get no sound from the headphone output. The Reaper user guide said to make sure that the track output went to the Master and then have the master go to the hardware (i.e. the Firestudio) . But I can't figure out how to do that, and thus have no idea whether that is the problem or not. Any help would greatly appreciated, since I am brand new to using MIDI. THANKS!

Last edited:
If I understand you corectly, you have this so far:

q49 > midi > presonus > reaper.

You've the track in Reaper to receive midi from the presonus, and Reaper is seeing that ok.

That's halfway there.

You need to make sure the track is armed for recording, and that its monitor button is clicked on.

To be able to hear anything, the midi needs to drive something. This could be either a (A) virtual instrument loaded onto the midi track, or it could be (B) the Q49 itself.

If (A), then click on the track FX button. With luck there will be a VSTi available that you can select for testing.

If (B), it gets a bit more complicated:

1 On the track you need to click the "I/O" button and select the presonus as the output midi device. You can probably leave the next bit "send to original channels" as it is.

2 You need to have a midi cable going from presonus midi out to Q49 in.

3 You need to get the Q49 audio output into the presonus

4 You need to create a track to record the presonus audio, and arm and monitor this.