MIDI Latency

Blakenstein

I'm hoping someone can provide some assistance with a little nagging issue I'm having with MIDI Latency - here's my equipment list and situation:

Equipment list:
KAT KT3 E-drums
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 - firewire into a PCIE Texas Instrument Firewire card
Behringer ADA8000 8 port expansion - light piped to the Saffire Pro 40
Presonus Studio One V2 2.0.4 DAW
Windows 7 - 64bit - custom built box: quad core chip, 16GB of DDR2, 120GB SSD main drive and 2TB of external hard drive storage
Steven Slate SSD4 drum sample software

I'm new to MIDI recording, I know it's been around for years and I'm behind the times but I'm schooled in the old analog recording world and I've always believed this was the best way to capture the true "essence" of the instrument but I digress. A few months ago I opted to get rid of my standard analog drum kit/mics and go with an electronic kit - I purchased the KAT KT3 kit. I recorded a few times using the stereo analog outputs directly into my Focusrite Pro 40 - seemed to work pretty well but of course lost the ability to separate the channels out - two track stereo, not much you can do in that respect. So I'm trying the MIDI connection - I have the KAT drum module MIDI In/Out directly to the Saffire Pro40 - External devices is setup correctly in Studio One for the KAT Module and Steven Slate virtual drum instrument software is working correctly but I'm getting a very slight (but annoying) latency with hearing the monitoring through the studio monitors. Is there any type of MIDI tweak that minimize or better eliminate this latency so I when I hit the drum pad I hear instant response and not a very slight delay?