midi keyboard/ virtual instruments recomendation

swelborn

greetings. I'm a guitarist songwriter home recorder and a noobie to midi/keyboard. I want to lay down tracks of instruments I don't play using midi keyboard. Guitar Center rep brought the Akai advance49 to my attention. Native S49 another option.
I liked the look of the Akai ( a little cheaper) with the larger colored lit touch pads. Wasn't able to plug in and listen to sounds but was told the current Akai units are comparable for quality natural sounding instruments. And I think the guy mentioned native software can be used with the Akai. Anyway I'm starting from clueless and appreciate any advice/recommendations. Thanks

Cubase 6/PC

You have to remember that the device is totally reliant on the other stuff you have for the sounds - it can play vst instruments, and apparently this is pretty transparent. Playing VSTi plugins is great live, but if you are going to produce songs at home, then you need a sequencer to record what the keyboard outputs (the MIDI data) so you may as well use the plugins in that, and that would be my preference.

In terms of controller keyboards, then you need to choose a keyboard that works for you. A real pianist probably learned to play on a real piano, so having weighted keys will be a real must. Somebody who learned to play on a plastic keyboard synth, will be happy with plastic keys and light pressure.

I have a very nice weighted keyboard - BUT - it does not have pitchbend and modulation - or aftertouch. My Korg Triton has them, but has a pretty horrid keyboard, but it does have aftertouch - so I use both. Pitchbend is essential if you want to produce realistic sounds on some instruments. Like trombone. Real trombones do not go from one note to another cleanly without a short gap, they do very quick pitch bends. String instruments slide about all over the place.