Looking for MIDI recording software

Whyte Ice

The Next Vanilla Ice
I am looking into buying software that I can record MIDI with. I currently use Cool Edit Pro (Adobe Audition) as my main recording tool but it barely has any MIDI functions so I have to look elsewhere. I'm looking for something that is easy to use since I'm very new to MIDI (meaning I haven't even worked with it yet) and something that wouldn't take an extreme amount of time out of my time to figure out.

1) Ability to export MIDI files into another program such as Cool Edit Pro.
2) Ability to use VST/DX plugins.
3) Ability to use VST instruments and/or SoftSynths, something like Sampletank.
4) Easy to use MIDI recording for someone beginning in this field but advanced enough for a moderate user.
5) MIDI editing features

Any recommendations would be helpful. I would like to get into the world of MIDI as soon as possible.

Requirement #1 is a given, any sequencing program that supports MIDI will output a standard MIDI file which can be opened in any sequencing program worth its salt.

I don't know if it's even possible any more to find a MIDI sequencing program that is not also a digital audio recorder. Ones like Cubase and SONAR originated as full-bore professional MIDI sequencers so they are usually better at MIDI than Cool Edit Pro or, say, ACID.

Whyte Ice said:
1) Ability to export MIDI files into another program such as Cool Edit Pro.
2) Ability to use VST/DX plugins.
3) Ability to use VST instruments and/or SoftSynths, something like Sampletank.
4) Easy to use MIDI recording for someone beginning in this field but advanced enough for a moderate user.
5) MIDI editing features

Hmm, how about budget? Looks like Cakewalk Home Studio 2004 XL is the right one.