Looking for a midi foot controller

PDGood

Hi,
Newbie here. I'm looking for help finding or building a midi foot controller to do simple functions. I have been looking for awhile and it seems like it should be simple but hasn't been thus far.

I'm a bass player in a blues trio and want to trigger sounds/notes/chords with a foot controller to add to our sound. I bought an Akai MPX16 sampler and have my sounds on that unit. All I need a foot controller for is to trigger those sounds.

I need a unit with quiet triggers (no loud clicking), at least 7 triggers, spaced so that it's easy to hit the right trigger, and will send a midi # when a trigger is pressed. I can assign a matching midi number on the sampler and can also assign velocity etc. as needed on the sampler. The foot controller doesn't need to do this.

I have tried the McMillen 12 step which does trigger the sounds, but has two issues. The front row of triggers are less than 1/8" from the floor making it easy to miss and hit the wrong one. And the midi box is separate from the foot controller creating an unnecessary pile of wiring spaghetti.
I tried another brand (whose name escapes me at the moment) and it sent Midi Programs which the Akai didn't pick up. I guess it was intended to have a computer interface, so that didn't work.

My local retailer has suggested a Roland FC-300 which certainly looks like the answer but is $450 and has a lot of functions I don't need. I was hoping to spend less given the simple requirements.

Can anyone suggest a basic unit that fits my needs?

If you don't mind building a box to hold the switches and a credit-card sized PCB, you could probably find an electronics friend to whip up a MIDI output and write some program code. Your requirements are very simple, so the coding should not take much more than one hour.

These boards are about $10, but will need MIDI to be added by your friend.

ATmega328P_Xplained_Angle_th.jpg