Im still relatively new to Midi

morty77

Question? when I midied my Korg Krome into my Nord Electro 5 all I want to do is use the sounds from the
Nord and be able to sustain them.... but as I change my programs on the Korg it affects the Nord. I tried to disenable program change(Krome) which stopped the sounds from being altered(Nord) but now I lost the sustain to the Nord
what am I doing wrong?

Sustain On/Off is a Control Change message, so it sounds like you disabled Control Change messages as well as Program Change messages. Bank Select is also a Control Change message, so it's common to disable Bank Select and Program Change messages at the same time-- but if you want the Sustain messages to be transmitted then you don't want to disable all Control Change messages.

I don't understand what you're trying to do. If all you want to do is send Sustain messages from the Krome to the Electro, why don't you just plug a Sustain Pedal into the Electro and skip the MIDI connection? Is there something else that you're wanting to send from the Krome to the Electro besides Sustain messages?

Sustain On/Off is a Control Change message, so it sounds like you disabled Control Change messages as well as Program Change messages. Bank Select is also a Control Change message, so it's common to disable Bank Select and Program Change messages at the same time-- but if you want the Sustain messages to be transmitted then you don't want to disable all Control Change messages.

I don't understand what you're trying to do. If all you want to do is send Sustain messages from the Krome to the Electro, why don't you just plug a Sustain Pedal into the Electro and skip the MIDI connection? Is there something else that you're wanting to send from the Krome to the Electro besides Sustain messages?

Thanks for your response No! Im using the Piano/strings of the Korg Krome and using lower strings pads etc from the Nord