First midi controller $150 Need Help on Present Selection

Drewdo

Hi My name is Andrew, new member,
My girlfriend has about $150 to spend MY :D christmas. I have been doing alot of recording lately with Sonar, I also want to do a few things with Acid (which I believe you must have a Midi controller for). I am a complete noob @ all the Midi stuff, but have been recording audio for a while in my cousin studio. He has since moved to FLA and I've started hacking away myself. But to the point I have the Dreaded audigy sound card :eek: , I also have a Boss digital recorder which I basicly use as a pre-amp as I run guitar and Mic through this, then into the computer. I get surprisingly good sounding records with this primitive setup, but I want to have more control over my drum tracks. I also would like some violens and maybe some horns. Im not sure if the recorder is "midi ready' so I may have to go the usb route. Firewire is possible also. The true question anyways is what do you guys suggest I get for my situation stated above for around $150.

Thanks in Advance :cool:

Tell me again why you would have to go USB or Firewire?
The Audigy has midi in/out doesn't it? My SB Live does...

Disposable said:
Tell me again why you would have to go USB or Firewire?
The Audigy has midi in/out doesn't it? My SB Live does...

My mistake... I am at work at the moment so I'm running everything off memory... and at this time of day that section of my brain is on idle mode...

:: Waiting to get home and rock or groove or what ever happens other than work :: :confused:

Toki987 said:
This looks to be a good contender for that price, and would suffice to allow you to drive softsynths, or an external module (but that would be more cost).

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/g=key/search/detail/base_pid/705360/