Can this issue be caused by something in MIDI?

I've been a musician for over 40 years and have also had a home studio for about as long. I've gone through the times of tape hiss and reel to reel machines and then moved into the digital world. That's a little bit of background on me. I've opened up the world of VSTs and have been using MIDI with my keyboard controller to play VSTi sound modules that I've purchased.

I have two main sound module programs that give me orchestra sounds and piano/synth sounds out the wazoo. I have two main computers. One for playing the sounds and one for the recording. These computers are connected via the SP/DIF connection. The computer playing the sounds is connected to my keyboard with MIDI ins and outs. I have drivers to play the sounds in CuBase and each sound program also has its own program, so I can play them outside of the DAW. I also have the ASIO drivers, which I use at times.

I have a mixer and run everything through it to the individual recording tracks and everything works great...except for one thing. When I play something real time on the keyboard, using the VST sounds, I get an anomaly of one note playing much louder than the rest. This situation is very random and only seems to happen when I play a lot of notes over a short period of time. That one note will play at full volume, then everything goes back to the way it should. Sometimes that one note can be two, and in extreme cases, I experience a latency issue for a couple of notes. But, once this little glitch has passed, everything is fine, once again.