Wouldn't be caught without...

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the recording world and I'm currently apprenticing at a local studio. And I asked all the guys there this same question, and found the wide answers pretty interesting.

Besides a SM57 ;)...What mic would you always grab and make sure you have on you when going into a recording session? and why? if you care to explain.

If I'm going to book a studio, I would not fool with one that doesn't have some microphones, but I understand the spirit of the question.
For acoustic music, which is about all I record, and I am a musician first and foremost before and engineer:
a couple of AKG 414's for some vocals and room mics
at least one nice dynamic like an SM7b or a 441 for instruments and male vocals and aggressive strummed acoustic guitar
a ribbon mic like an Apex 205 is nice for harsh acoustic instruments like mandolin or banjo - but you can get by with others on the list.
a good SDC like an Oktava MK012 for fingerpicked or flatpicked lead acoustic guitar and upright bass
the only thing left is a mic that is specific for a certain type of vocal or whatever you are recording, but i'm betting the ones above can work for almost anything.

Anything Oktava, just get something they make. They are really unique and great sounding mics, nothing else has quite their vibe. I'm really surprised they aren't more popular. But I guess they aren't fancy heritage name brand so...

Hey Capt. Is your question asking for just one microphone to have before all others?

If so I would have to go with something that is pretty universal and go with the Avantone C-40 stereo Microphone It has duel changeable degree large capsules and on each capsule it has ... roll off, pad, and three polar options.

Look HERE

If I'm going to book a studio, I would not fool with one that doesn't have some microphones, but I understand the spirit of the question.

Haha, thanks for bearing with it!