What is a mic pre amp and Top Condenser mic choice under $300

Monkubus325

I'm new to the whole recording process and rather than wade through thousands of threads I thought I'd just ask. What is the role of a mic pre amp? What does it do? How do you use one? and what is a good one I can get for around $100? Another question I have is what is the best condenser mic I can get for recording vocals and acoustic guitar for under $300??

Thanks for the help,

Monkubus

Monk, as you know, there are a number of ways to do this as far as possible choices.
Here's what I would do;

If you need two channels of mic pre =M-Audio DMP3.
If you only need one channel =Studio Projects VTB-1.
Try to get the DMP3 at Guitar Center at the Memorial Day Sale
price of $119.
I think the VTB-1 is still $129 at www.digitalproaudio.com
A dedicated outboard mic pre will outperform a (budget) mixer
pre's in terms of delivering a higher quality signal from a microphone.

The Studio Projects B1 is a good sounding vocal microphone,
and based on what others have posted, works well on acoustic
guitar too. If you have access to a nice sounding room, the B3
which has an omni pattern as one of its polar options, would
make sense as a selection.

Two other microphones, to put on your short list for vocal microphones, are the Shure SM57, Electro-Voice EV 635a,
and Electro-Voice RE15 or RE16 (has internal foam pop shield).

The EV 635a and EV RE15 are pretty easy to "place" well as the
635a is an omni, and the RE15 (& RE16) uses "variable-D" design to offset proximity effect. Other than a good condenser, these
would be the first one or two dynamic microphones I'd buy if I
were starting out. Especially if you're playing rock or blues, a SM57 would be great to get familiar with too.
A number of pro singer/acoustic guitarists have used a combination of the EV 635a (on guitar) and SM57 (or RE15)
on vocals, while they are playing or recording live.
Always use a mesh pop screen when recording vocals BTW.

Chris