tube mikes

Wide Awake

If you own a tube mic, can you describe how they sound ? I use condensers through inexpensive tube preamps and like the effect. Is the effect of the tube in a tube mic that pronounced ?

Do you like them for other applications other than voice ?

In my VERY limited experience with the AT4060 (which I own and am evaluating right now), I'd say no, the effect is not pronounced. The sound is large, warm and detailed. It sounds... well... expensive.

Since I'm a newbie, I was surprised to learn that the tube is in the body of the mic (duh); I had thought for some reason that it was in the power supply. The mic itself gets quite warm after being on for an hour.

In listening to the mic comparison CD from 3DAudioinc.com, all the Audio Technica mics they recorded have a similar quality that I like very much, and the differences among them seem to reflect their price (that is, I would rate them in the order of 4060, 4050, 4047 and 4033). Only the 4060 is a tube mic.

From the list of mics I liked most out the 49 on the disc (selected during repeated blind listening tests), I crossed out those that were too esoteric or expensive for me to consider. What remained were mostly not tube mics, but then the CD was released before the latest offerings from Rode, Studio Projects and others were available.