Tube mic + tube pre - bad idea?

espskully

Does this cause problems? Are you better off with a solid state mic and a tube pre or vice versa? Will having both be tube based mess things up?

probably only if they are both very cheap. i'm sure an excellent quality tube mic into a great sounding tube pre would have no problems. but if the mic and/or the pre is crappy, well it's only gonna sound as good as the weakest link in the chain wether they are tube or not. and if both are crappy, then you can probably consider the damage to be doubled, but this is just speculation as i've never used an actual tube mic before.

I use a Tube pre and a Tube mic together all the time..What Zed said pretty much sums it up in my experience. Good luck :)

There's a very high possiblity of tube overload when using that combination.

I would personally advise against it for that reason.

Tube overload is what happens when the tube-osity rating of a given signal chain passes the threshold of maximum tube enjoyment and throws one in to all-out tube frenzy. Things have been known to get ugly from there.

chessrock said:

Tube overload is what happens when the tube-osity rating of a given signal chain passes the threshold of maximum tube enjoyment and throws one in to all-out tube frenzy. Things have been known to get ugly from there.

What if you use "Pro" tube gear, such as Behringer? :confused:

:D

-mr moon

Bad news for people running Pro Tools on a Univac

chessrock said:

I disagree with this. From my experience, I find that things get unusable only when I use a tube mic, going through a tube pre, going into a computer running on vacuum tubes. There's too much noise in the warehouse from the 523 air conditioners keeping the computer below 200 degrees Celsius. It's a very "warm" sound, though.

- Jerfo

jerfo said: