Troubleshooting a secondhand mic (MXL V69 Mogami Edition)

the_warden

Hey Guys,

Been lurking and reading here for awhile but have ran into a snag with my setup.

I recently purchased a used MXL V69 Mogami Edition tube mic off of ebay and first tested it last night. Ensuring all of my connections were good, I turned on the power supply unit and the phantom power on the Scarlett 8i6...

...nothing. No response whatsoever. I shut off the PSU and phantom power, disconnect mic and open it up to inspect internally. Everything appears intact and mic has not been modded, still contains original tube as well. Again, I inspect all connections thoroughly. I power the mic up and again check my monitor levels, ensure PSU is on and phantom power engaged. Still nothing. The tube appears to be in good shape and almost new as well, but I have no prior experience with tube mics so it could be something that I am unable to see.

I'm bummed out to say the least because this mic looks almost brand new and I would really like to add it to my gear. I am expecting to come home and check the cords to make sure it is not an issue with them but I do not have another 7 pin cord though, unfortunately.

How can I further the troubleshooting with this mic?

Is it possible the tube is no good anymore and can a bad tube kill the signal like that?

I'm hoping it's just the tube, which I intended to replace anyway, but I'd really not want to have to deal with the hassle of sending it back and all that; but if attempting to locate the problem is going to take hours of special attention and equipment or component swapping, this thing is going back asap.

Any experience or advice that you think will help is greatly appreciated.