Trident Trimix console

harley96

I have an opportunity to purchase a Trident trimix console from a buddy of mine.I was wondering what are the opinions from anyone who has used one of these consoles.I have not seen it yet and I have not inquired about the price but I am assuming it will be in the 5k to 10k range. I know it's hard to evaluate worth without knowing how many inputs,etc. I want to know how users compare sound quality to the likes of api and neve. I am currently using a mackie 24/8. I asked him if he had any left over trident mic pres as I would like to have atleast one nice mic pre but he only has the trimix board to offer and I'm thinking long term this board may be what I'm looking for.

Funny you should mention that. I just got done reading an article in TapeOp about Malcom Toft (built and helped design all the early Trident desks). I've got no hands on experience with them but I'd imagine they're a very good desk.

Track Rat

Thanks for the reply,Ive done some research on them but very little info on the net regarding the trimix console.I'll be checking it out on Monday.More than likely it will be out of my league but I'm looking realistically to start a studio business within 2 years.I have quite a bit of equipment and If I can get into a Trident console I think it will certainly be a selling point to come in to my studio.It all takes time but I want to have all my aspects covered.Thanks,Greg

Trimix