Stepping up from the ART Tube MP

Fab4ever

Getting better
I am just beginning to notice, and be bothered by, the color my ART Tube MP Studio adds to some of my vocal tracks - my only decent mic is the Marshall V-67. On some tunes, the "tube" coloration is cool. But elsewhere, I want a cleaner sound. But (as you can see by my gear choices) I'm a bottom-feeder. So....

What would you recommend as a cheap "cleaner" preamp, something that I could use instead of the ART when I wanted a purer sound?

Ideally, I'd love to have two channels. But I'll take a single channel if it can be had for not too many bucks (less than $300 or even cheaper if possible).

I am considering anything from the unfortunately named M-Audio Audio Buddy to a used Mackie 1202.

What do you think?

Dont know the Audio Buddy..Mackie might be cool for you..Also there is a very nice pre for cheap ..Event EMP1..this pre is more of a straight wire type of pre...I got one for about $150 used and the difference between the Art MP is like night and day!Very quiet very clean for the cash!Matter of fact Im gonna order one myself soon so I have a pair..My guess is that it probobly costs about $250.00 new

Don

Thanks for the replies. Yes, I've looked at Joe Meek - even bid on a couple of their low-end preamps on EBay. Do you have a specific suggestion in their line, Grip?

And Don, I'll check out the Event.

Any other recommendations?

Too bad you missed it when Guitar Center was blowing out the JoeMeek stuff, I heard the VC3 was going for 99$. I can't think of anything out there that can really match that. There's some nice dbx stuff, but it's not very cheap. If you can afford a used 1202 VLZ Pro, that would be my recommendation at the low end for more than one pre.