Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Thread: Some things to think about when choosing mics.

City on the Edge of Forever In Southern Illinois
    Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Grasshoppa has been enlightened!

What an outstanding source of information on microphones.

Harvey, I had never ventured that many pages back in the history to see that thread.

Now I understand. Your explanations and examples blew me away. I have an AEE degree and I was able to make sense of much of the material. Not that I needed it with the easy way you explain complex technical material, but it helped.

And now I know why the 441 is so damn good and how they got it that way.

I think that the Sennheiser MD441U was chosen for Nicks because of the timbre of her voice and her style of singing. I would have never been able to figure that out before. She used that mic for three albums and always used it live until 1997. That is just my opinion based on the information that was presented and being very familiar with her vocal style and her timbre.

I have noticed her voice has changed slightly since then and other mics have been used. Her voice has deepened and is slightly rougher than it was in her younger days.

Thank you for what I believe to be the equivilent of an entire semester of college. It is much appreciated.

Someone on that thread compiled all of your material in Word format and I bookmarked it for reference for the times I get stuck.

Whew...I'm still sitting here with my jaw practically down to the keyboard.

Thanks
    Originally posted by Michael Jones

Could you (or anyone else) explain this: It seems to me that the small dia. condensor mics I have used on my grand piano, seem to lose definition in the A2 - A3 octave. Why is that?
    mic positioning?

Thanks
    Originally posted by littledog

mic positioning?
    Well, I mean... it... but...if....