sm7b male vocal chain

cbsc

Hi everyone,

I just got this mic and like it, but I'm running it into a Fast Track Pro,
which probably has weak preamps because the signal is low.
I am thinking I need a preamp? But I'm not sure how to match impedience and
all that. I'm considering: Tampa, Grace 101, Great River ME-1nv, blue robbie tube, RNP & RNC, but I'm not sure if I really need one of these since I can boost the signal in a daw. Since it's a dynamic mic, do I want a tube to balance it? I think I need to deal with the gain and compression issues. I'm still pretty new to all this and would appreciate your opinions on how to get a more quality vocal track.

Thank you, cbsc

Current chain: sm7b > fast track pro > Dell Laptop, Sound Forge 4.5, Audacity
For rock/pop vocals

cbsc said:
Hi everyone,

I just got this mic and like it, but I'm running it into a Fast Track Pro,
which probably has weak preamps because the signal is low.
I am thinking I need a preamp? But I'm not sure how to match impedience and
all that. I'm considering: Tampa, Grace 101, Great River ME-1nv, blue robbie tube, RNP & RNC, but I'm not sure if I really need one of these since I can boost the signal in a daw. Since it's a dynamic mic, do I want a tube to balance it? I think I need to deal with the gain and compression issues. I'm still pretty new to all this and would appreciate your opinions on how to get a more quality vocal track.

Thank you, cbsc

Current chain: sm7b > fast track pro > Dell Laptop, Sound Forge 4.5, Audacity
For rock/pop vocals

I had the same issue with my SM7. I now run it through a RNP with a RNC or RNLA inserted. When I am doing vocals I have to crank the gain almost all the way up to get a suitable signal.

I think you want a pre that will allow you to get a good loud signal heading into your computer. That will likely yeild better results than cranking a weak signal using software.