SM57/58 vs. AT-2035 vs. Shure SM7B vs. ?

Seanaway

My Shure PG-58 and AT-2035 are gone (sob). Got to buy new mics (grin). I have very little experience. But I really liked the AT-2035 during our short time together. It had a lot more "vocal detail" (I don't know what else to call it) than the Shure, but of course it cost a lot more. I need at least two new mics. Most of my recording is guitar and vocals (male, baritone-tenor range (I have a wide range)). I want to be able to mic the guitar close-up and at a distance and also mic vocals, so maybe I need three mics, at least, although my current set-up with the Roland Quad Capture will only allow two mic inputs at one time. At present I find it very difficult to lay down a guitar track and then a vocal track. It's weirdly easier for me to record them all simultaneously. I hope that will change (the guitar track is the problem -- it just doesn't feel right without singing simultaneously). I am not sure if that is relevant, but it seems relevant, since if I'm right, I should be aiming towards more inputs and probably replacing the Quad Capture eventually so that I can record with two mics for guitar and a third one for voice. If I am totally wrong about this, I hope the membership will set me straight.

I don't want to go back to the PG-58 (though it was a fine product for the price), but is the Shure SM 57/58 equal to the Audio-Technica 2035? I have so little experience I just don't know. Some things I have read online indicate that it may be. Another option for one of the mics is a Shure SM7B. Is it worth the money? Is there an MXL mic that is superior to them all at a better price? Everyone has an opinion; informed opinions are valuable.

My goal is to be able to create a credible good recording in terms of "making a CD" (in the long run), and I'd like to buy quality. So my budget is flexible -- anywhere from $250-$600. But I don't want to waste money.