SM57

Vocals vocals vocals.

Someone recently posted that the SM57 and SM58 are basically the same microphone except for the ball. True?

I have an SM57 and need to record vocals. I tried once but wasn't too happy with the results. But then I'm a newbie and I don't have great voice to begin with :)

Last night I was perusing through my old Guitar Handbook by Ralph Denver (good general resource BTW) and he mentioned that the SM57 and SM58 are both used traditionally as instrument AND vocal microphones.

What can I expect (from a non-professional standpoint) from my SM57 if I use it for vocals. I was reading somewhere about ways to make filters and such to reduce pops and such out of things like nylons...maybe that was here? Any comments? Thanks.

Slackmaster 2000

When I first started recording, I used an SM58. I was about as happy as you were. Using it live is another story- the mic is still and always has performed great. I now use a condender mic (CAD E-100)for vocals, and it provides me with much better sonic quality. I've heard that live SM57's do a great job with instruments.

I've never heard that the SM57 is the same as the SM58 though. I know that they do have similar frequency characteristics. Maybe the pick-up patterns are different- the SM58 works best for close-up vocals. Something to check into maybe.

As far as popping and such, I bought a cheap pop filter from American Musical Supply. You can make by stretching nylon over a coat hanger. Bend the hanger into a circular shape, stetch the nylon over it, and maybe duct tape (or some kind of tape) it to the boom on the mic stand. This is a cheap way but I tried it a few years back and it worked OK.

What kind of equipment do you have? Tweaking the vocals can be done a number of ways-EQ, reverb, compession, etc. I'm not a pro by any means, but if you let me know what kind of gear you have, I might be able to give you some tips on the SM57's sound.