Shure SM81's for drum overheads.

metalj

Looking at a used pair for around $500, clips and case all included.

Any members out there with experience with these?

I read a post by someone a while back that stuck with me for some reason. They said about these mics that "why not buy a set of mics you can use for a lifetime" when helping a poster decide on what kind of mics to buy for drum overheads.

Thanks for any feedback.

I read a post by someone a while back that stuck with me for some reason. They said about these mics that "why not buy a set of mics you can use for a lifetime" when helping a poster decide on what kind of mics to buy for drum overheads.

Thanks for any feedback.

Totally sounds like something I'd say about 81s. :p
They're a great, honest, microphone.

No idea what the price should be in the US, but $500 equates to about what I paid here.

Thanks for any feedback.

The same thing can be said about many mics in this price range.

I have no personal experience with the 81's in my studio. They were the ones that were used at a studio I worked in for a while when just producing vocal tracks. They sounded quite good to me as drum overhead mics.

I personally now use KSM141's for my drum overheads. I like that they can also be set to 'omni' pattern which works very well for acoustic guitars. I purchased them used via a member here for $500 for the pair.

I bought a pair off of a forum member here, hopefully he'll chime in because I think he used them as overheads. I'm not an acoustic drum guy, but these things sound amazing on acoustic guitars. They work for backing vocals as well. They're ruler-flat and honest, I've enjoyed using them on anything that I think already sounds good, when I want to capture an accurate representation thereof. They take a little more gain than my other condenser mics, but with a quiet preamp they're really solid workhorses.