Shure SM7B's gain requirements

CoverMan

Hey Folks! I'm looking to upgrade my mic to the Shure SM7B for vocal recording (singing vocals of a gritty, rock sounding nature ). All the reviews I've read for this mic mention how it often times needs a gain push (anywhere from 40-70dbs) from an audio interface. I'm currently setup with a Behringer XENYX QX1202 usb mixer. This has a phantom power (+48v) option, though I don't know if this is what's needed. The mic input channel gain knobs say -10 (+10) to +40 (+60)...I assume this is in dbs???....if this is true, it SEEMS there might be enough to push the mic....right?? I'm fairly new to the home recording thing, so please bear with me and my ignorance :S

I'm just wondering if my current setup w/the Behringer will work well w/the SM7B, or if a different, more robust pre-amp interface will be what I need.

Any helpful input is GREATLY appreciated!

Cheers!!

-CM

Thanks for the helpful reply, Mark!!! This is good news to hear, and as luck would have it, my current mic is a Shure Beta58A, so the output should be close to the SM7B? From your comments, you suggest using a FetHead for an extra push to the mic as it helps create a better quality sound. If this helps to improve quality of the end product, I'm all for it! So, if the majority of the vocals I do are a gritty/yelling type (see James Hetfield and Layne Stayley :D) this should require less gain to get to the 'sweet spot' on the levels for recording, right?...sorry, my newbness is again rearing its ugly head :S

Thanks again for your help!

-Scott

Hi,
Good advice from Mark here.
I just wanted to chime in to say think long and hard before you commit.
I've had my 7b for a long time. It's seen mbox 2 preamps and dig 003 preamps and with both of those I really didn't like the mic.
Level wise, it played fine with both of those preamps for singing but there was audible noise when I did voiceover work.