Shure SM7b

murf214@

I've been doing a lot of research, trying to figure out which mic to buy to record my (male pop punk) vocals. I'd been considering the Rode NT1a or the AT4040 but after a lot of reading I'm now leaning towards Shure SM7b. I'm fairly new at this, although I've been in many bands and many studios but always on the other side of the board. Until recently my only experience turning the knobs was my Tascam 4 track in the 80's. I'm using Logic express 8 with a Presonus FP10. I already have a few SM58 and one SM57, and have been getting decent results with the '58. I've read that the SM7b needs a powerful pre-amp. My question is, is the Presonus powerful enough for the SM7b? And not to beat a dead horse any more than it's already done but if anyone wants to chime in on the other two mics or recommend another I wouldn't mind at all. Bear in mind I record my vocals in my dinning room which is not the brightest room in the world but it's pretty bright. Also I'm not ready to spend big bucks until I know the proper way to EQ things. Thanks.

I use Logic, too. Because we're using Digital Audio Workstations (DAWs, so to speak), I think it's most accurate to say that the SM7b needs a *quiet* preamp, even if it doesn't provide a tremendous amount of gain - the reason is that we can further boost the gain digitally within Logic without adding any additional noise.