Shure SM-58 vs. AKG D880 ???

deathofamind

So, I went to the guitar store today, looking for a decent all-purpose microphone. I'm still a beginner at this stuff. I want something that I could use for vocals and acoustic/electric guitar (sometimes clean, sometimes distorted) at home, and maybe live for vocals sometime.

I went in to look for a Shure SM57 or SM58, and they had both in the cabinet. So I asked the guy if he had them in stock, and he gave me this whole speech about how "nobody buys them anymore", and that I'd be better off with an AKG D880. He said it's the same price as the SM58, and it's a little better. He also said that the AKG D770 is similar to the SM57, but better.

So um... what gives? Like I said, I'm a total beginner at this. Everybody here praises the Shure mics, but now I don't know what to think.

I have only used the SM57 in a live show -- that was years ago, but it was a great mic.

For acoustic guitar and voice, I use an AKG D65s. It was about $50. It's a well-built mic -- I've dropped it several times. And while it's not an SM57, it's pretty decent.

Personally, I'll be looking for an SM57 or 58 soon, based very much on what I read here.

Good luck!

You might consider th epossibility that your local salesman has a few dollars more in his pocket when selling AKG over Shure perhaps. You shouldn't trust this guys too much, especially if he says that the 57 & 58 ain't so good. The 57 is THE worlds most versatile mic. Period. Any studio of any size and any budget should, as always will, have at least one of each and usually a dozen of the 57's.

You really can't go wrong with either of them.

I had something similar happen when I went to purchase a mic several years ago -- I went in for a 58, and was steered to a D880.

I bought the D880. In a side-by-side comparison, I felt that the D880 sounded better on my voice. The top end is a little smoother, and it had a certain "richness" that the 58 lacked.