Sennheiser e835 vs. SM57

geet73

OMG!
Would I be better off buying the senns or the 57's? I trust the 57's a bit more, but my friend is trying to tell me that the e835's would be better because they have "newer technology" and I can get them cheaper.

Opinions would be greatly appreciated.

This has been covered a number of times - trying doing a search.

My personal favourite is the e835. Prefer the sound of it, warmer but clearer.

If you are buying four, consider a pair of each.

As a complete newbie recordist, I picked up a bunch of SM57 new because I got a deal on them. After the smoke clears, and one is smarter and wiser, other alternatives become apparent.

F'instance: I'd like to replace an SM57 with a Beyer M201 for snare. On hat, I'd like to replace the SM57 with either a M201, or the Sennheiser E609 black face. The E609-SE Silver is a whole different animal.

The E835 has its high frequency peak much higher than does the SM57. Perhaps this is what increases the clarity.

I have one of each, and through my cheap art tube mp, the 835 wins to my ears for most things (acoustic guitar, voice) for the clarity. But I dont' think you could go wrong with either

i have a pair of 835s and four 845s, mostly used for live but always to my mind better than the sm57s or 58s they're marketed against.

but the sm57 has stood the test of time. you could do a lot worse. i'd do with the sennheisers every time but i'm still tempted every so often by adding a shure to my collection!

I did a hand-held walkaround with an SM57 driving a headphone distribution amp and a set of cans. It is quite revealing, listening to the drummer and moving the mic everywhere.

My SM57 sound like pure dog sh!t on cymbals, especially up close.

I'd like to replace my snare and hat SM57 with a set of Beyer M201 or Sennheiser E609 black face.

I was planning on using these mics on toms, snare, and guitars mainly. I was going to get a pair of AKG c1000s for overheads.