Rode NT1A

Neilee 55

Hi
I'm new to home recording so I decided to by myself a Rode NT1 A condenser microphone as they are the best type for what I want to record, in my price range.
I didn't know that know my digital recorder ( Tascam DP01) doesn't have a Phantom power facility on it, and the microphone needs it. My question is what type of phantom power unit would be best for the microphone as the instruction booklet is a little ambiguous stating 24V and 48 V ?
many thanks in advance for your help

Well, my first thought would be to exchange that mic for a dynamic for now. What is it you are recording?

But, failing that, buy what you can afford at the low end of the price range, with an eye of maybe upgrading the DP01 to something that supplies phantom power someday, would be my recommendation.

Phantom power supplies for sale @ B&H (link)

I had bought a used DP01 a few years back and it included a Behringer PS400 Phantom Power Supply PS400 B&H Photo Video . It powered mics well. The NT1-A will be OK with the 48V.

If you have the DP01 and not the DP01-FX, it has 'unbalanced' 1/4" input jacks. It's been a while, but I think I recall using an XLR to 1/4" TS cable which 'unbalanced' the connection to the DP01.
Amazon.com: Hosa PXF-105 XLR3F to 1/4 inch TS Unbalanced Interconnect Cable, 5 feet: Musical Instruments

If you're lucky to have the DP01-FX just a normal XLR to XLR cable can be used.

Thank you Mark
sadly I only have the DP01 not the DP01 FX which has the inbuilt phantom power supply. I've been singing through a Sure SM58 for years, although when recorded sounds a bit ropey ( I don't think its just my voice)so I am keen to try a condenser mic and hear what happens. I'll try the 48V Behringer
Many Thanks