A reminder that I am a noob... (KAM Crystal)

exhnozoaa

So I bought a cheap bright mic... A KAM Crystal (third mic on http://kaminstruments.com/studio-mics.htm).

I had been looking for a good deal on a V67g or something, but stumbled upon this and impulsively bought it instead. Listening to the samples on the KAM website (
mainly), I originally liked the brightness, but now I'm afraid and freaking out.

I haven't opened it yet (I haven't even received it yet). I'm considering trying to flip it on eBay and just eating the shipping without opening it... Or I could open it, try it, not like it, and sell it for even more of a loss since it would be used. Or I could open it and end up loving it.

What do y'all think would be my best option? Has anyone tried this microphone?

P.S. I was looking for a mic for baritone vocals, if that has any relation to whether or not I need to think about keeping it.

I only paid $50, so it's not that much... But I only work part time, so it is a significant amount of money to me.

This whole situation is just a fun reminder that I am a young noob.

I would have gone with the MC3 or the C3 Though with the MC3 you would have had 3 microphones for the price of one.

Monetary value is always a hard thing to consider. Some people would throw the paper down just to try it out while others would only have that much to spend the rest of this year on gear.

I will cost you $10. to send it back ..... I say try it out. Or call the company and tell them you decided to not want it any longer they usually say just refuse the package and have the shipping company send it back.

I'll probably end up keeping it... I probably wouldn't do much better with a different mic at this stage in life. YouTube is proof that a noob can make any mic sound like crap :P. I haven't even used a LDC before (well, I borrowed an AT3035 for like 5 minutes once... and I sang into a pair with a choir). It will be a fun adventure.