Recording vocals: what're you using?

Hi -off topic :>) How do you have your QU set up? Direct as an interface to DAW for example or..?
I'm new to the mixer, only used the 'QU drive, and transferred a few projects to Sonar.
It was fun to do a bit of mixing off the drive. Something I haven't done in years actually :)

Not to heist OP but I have it set up to go usb into computer which required a download from A&H and admittedly was fiddly to set up. I also have it set so I can switch it to use as a control surface when mixing Pro Tools sessions in the box (more fiddly set up)

I'm using AT2020 XLR > Tascam US-2x2 > Computer > Reaper

Right now, I'm working on recording some acoustic guitar and my vocal. Original music, all written on acoustic. Music style.. whatever it is when it pops outta my head onto the guitar and paper. I would loosely classify it as 80's Pop-Rock - - 3-1/2 to 4-1/2 minute "gems".

Some of these songs have been recorded to 8 and 16 track tape in good home studios. I'm planning to set a few out for others to add their tracks to - see what happens. You know, a conspiracy. .. NO! .. I mean COLLABORATION!

SE 2200A or 60's Unidyne III into home-made (with ecc83's help!) battery operated pre into Tascam DP-008EX or Tascam 244. Get virtually noise free recordings even with the dynamic as a result of the That 1510 chip in the amp.

SE 2200A or 60's Unidyne III into home-made (with ecc83's help!) battery operated pre into Tascam DP-008EX or Tascam 244. Get virtually noise free recordings even with the dynamic as a result of the That 1510 chip in the amp.

Might help others if you could write that pre up in the DIY section? There is not nearly enough electronics done these days.

Dave.

SM7b > cloudlifter > Focusrite 2i2