Recording A Violin

DomB

OK. So. I looked through all the FAQ, and through some forum threads and I couldn't find anyhting to answer my question.

Does anyone know what mic should be used to record a violin? Would something like an sm57 work? I am just getting started recording me and some friends, who play guitar and sing, and I can find nothing about recording violins. I have a G4 that I would be recording onto.

Speaking of which, does anyone have an opinion about a cost effective way of coverting the analog signal from the mics to digital for the computer? I suppose thats for another Forum.

Any advice would be much apreaciated.

First question is, do you want it to sound like a violin, or a fiddle? If the answer is fiddle, you are best off with a ribbon mic. If the answer is violin, you need a condenser mic, preferably one that is not too bright. Placement is very critical for a good violin sound, usually you need to get the mic 2' to 3' away, and depending on the mic and desired tone, usually at the level of the violin, or higher (brighter tone). Obviously the room comes into play, so, generally speaking, the bigger the better. Placement for fiddle with a ribbon mic is easier, you can get about 12" away and above.

An SM57 is usually not desirable for violin--or fiddle!

lol nice one.

Ya you can mess around with the placement of a nice LDC mic. Sometimes close micing right up near the strings may work but most likely 2-3 in. will do you nicely.

lol nice one.

Ya you can mess around with the placement of a nice LDC mic. Sometimes close micing right up near the strings may work but most likely 2-3 in. will do you nicely.

2-3 feet, you mean. 2-3 inches will give you a sound like fighting cats.:)

1st of all, a ribbon mic or a condenser mic wont make anything sound like a fiddle or a violin. It is how the instrument is played and what is played that gives a violin a fiddle sound.

2nd - experiment.