Recording violin

whazzup

Newbie here. Thanks for your anticipated help. I've reviewed the FAQ and searched the forum, but I can't find a specific answer to my question.

I want to record my children's music into Garage Band (so I can edit it a little) and I want to keep it in the ~$100 range. I have a violin player and a piano/keyboard player. I would prefer one halfway-decent, all-around mic to start with. I realize there are tradeoffs, and I am beginning to realize that one mic may not do it in the long run. However, until I see how far I go with this, I don't want to spend that much money. I've toyed around with a unidirectional, dynamic Radio Shack $15 special, and have realized that that was a waste of money. For now, I am using an iMic USB device with the 1/8" plug to get the sound into the computer. I expect to upgrade this to an m-audio device if this catches on. I'm not looking for professional sound, here, just a way to memorialize the fits and starts of a couple of budding musicians.

At the risk of sounding stupid, I believe I am looking for a cardioid, small-diaphragm, condenser mic. But what I don't understand, is the power issue. They tallk about phantom power and self-powered. So I think I want a self-powered one (if condenser is right).

Thanks for your help in this endeavor.

The Griffin iMiccan accept line level or mic level input. Then they say that you may need a preamp. So I am not sure. Here is their relevant FAQ. Thanks.

iMic

It sounds like that interface does not deliver phantom power and the preamp is designed for computer mics, not studio mics. You have a few options:

1. Get a dynamic mic - something relatively inexpensive, like the Shure SM57 should be able to plug into that interface, with a cable like this. However, I'm not sure what the sound quality will be running through the iMic.