Please help me upgrade some mics, vocals, kick, toms.

umair

Hello. I am happy to have found this forum after reading a ton of posts everyone on here everyone seems really cool and enjoys helping out new comers. I am going to end up posting two things. One in Mics and one in Computer Recording…. So bear with me in case you read both posts… it may seem a little repetitive.

OK. Here is my situation:
I have been tooling around with home recording for about two years but spend most of my time in my band. I started out with a Boss Br-8 about two years ago. And sold that and bought a C-port and some freeware software. Then I bought sonar off of a friend. Then I sold that on ebay and bought Nuendo which is by far the greatest purchase I have ever made (in my novice opinion).
I have gotten a lot more serious about the demo recording studio thing because people have liked all the equipment I put together and I have compiled enough stuff over the last year or so to start charging people to record demos. That’s kind of what I like about this. I can record my own band and also record others and make some money back. I am ready for a pretty significant upgrade (significant for me at least).
I am selling a few things now and I am ready for the next step up. I like to do things in steps rather than spending 5 grand all of the sudden.

This is what I have:
DMP3 Preamp
Alesis Nanoverb (not really used for recording, mostly rehearsal)
Behringer MX3282A mixer (used mostly for rehearsals but I also mic up drums through it… I know it needs to be upgraded eventually so please don’t yell at me for Behringer)).
Two ¼” patch bays (don’t use them much but I got them cheap)
Mics - nothing too great just yet:
- (2) SM57’s
- (1) SM-58 (mostly used for rehearsal rather than recording)
- AT3035
- MXL 660 - I know its cheap but I really like the sound out of it.
I just sold: the AKG Drum Pack which includes D-550, 2 D440’d, and 2 D660S’s.