please advise on mics for recording vocals and acoustic guitar

petr1991

Hi!

I need help!!!!

I have arround 600$ to spend on this, which from the research I've done should be enough. Anyway, I wanted a condenser mic for the vocals but I was told it would pick up the strumming or the 'playing' of the guitar as well. This means I would have to record the guitar and vocals seperately. This just doesn't feel as natural to me.

Is therre any way with two mics to record the guitar and the vocals at the same time? I know the condenser mic is very sensitive and will pick up anything so that's my dilemma. I could just use the condenser mic and place it between my face and the guitar to pick up both, but I feel that would take away from the vocals.

I have an acoustic guitar, but I can amp it. Idk what good that does, but yeah.

Basically I need a solution to this problem, not to exceed 600$. I'm very new to recording, but I've been playing for a while and I've been in chambers chorus since forever and all state and blah blah, and I just want to record something :-)

Thanks all!

Any feedback is very very welcome.

You could try setting up the mic so that the guitar is aimed at its back. It's kinda awkward and I have had mixed results.
You could also use a really nice dynamic mic. I have had the best results with this. The standard dynamic for vocals would be an sm7, I have been really digging the results I have been getting with an old EV re-11 that I have.
The other thing is that a little picking bleed is not the end of the world, a little bleed can sometimes make things sound more natural in the end.
You did not mention what your voice is like, but if you post that you can get answers from a few people who have had experience with alot more mics than me. Thats kinda the first trick is finding a mic that compliments your voice.(or the voice of who your tracking)

Dont know if this helps any buuut.....