NT1A with UA710 pre vs. AKG C414

BigEZ

The Devil Has Blue Eyes
Hi All,

Currently I own a Rode NT1A and am using a UA710 preamp with it. I am thinking about investing into a serious mic...do you think I would hear a noticeable "more pro" sound with an AKG C414? It's the only mic I've found in the under $1000 price range that is tried, tested and true on numerous pro recordings.

Or...

Should I just stick with the Rode? I'm not having any problems with it but I'm no pro. I really want to work at getting that "pro" sound from my home studio (or as close as possible) and have already upgraded a lot of my gear. Other mic suggestions welcome as well.

Thanks,

ROK

You may want to check the microphone forum for some ideas especially the stickys with Harvey Gerst.

Also find the thread about the CM-6 that may be a cheaper alternative to the 414. It is a premodded tube microphone.

But it is hard to tell what will work for you as far as a microphone goes check out an EV RE20 or a Shure SM7b.

I'm looking for something strictly for vocals and acoustic guitar...do u think the Oktavamod nt1a would fit the bill?

Defiantly for vocals but when it comes to acoustic guitar you'll want a few small diaphragm condenser microphones or may just one again at Oktavamod HERE and you will see the Oktava MK-012 HERE which I also have and highly recommend!!

☼ SORRY ☼
Both of those links failed and I don't know why!?!

But the first one is to point out his modded MXL603's and the 2nd one is for his Octava modded MK-012 both can be found at his site once you get there.

Yes but I prefer the Oktava MK-012 microphone. read up on that one. But there is more than just the audiofanzine reviews go to the oktavamod site and read there.