Newbie looking for a microphone

GuyWithSocks

Good day everybody,
I am in need of a microphone. I would need one that would be good for vocals, podcasting and speaking in general. Then I would need another one which would be for my brother who would use it mainly for rapping. My budget is 500 bucks for both. Thanks for everybody who is willing to help me out.

500 bucks will buy you one excellent mic that will work for both purposes.

One mic to rule them all...

bucks US ? Aussie?
interface or USB?

I live in Europe, but I assumed it will be easier to say the currency in US dollars. About the interface or USB...I have no idea about that I am absolute newbie in this field.

500 bucks will buy you one excellent mic that will work for both purposes.

One mic to rule them all...

But I need two microphones, one for me and one for my brother and I have 500 US dollars for that purpose.

I live in Europe, but I assumed it will be easier to say the currency in US dollars. About the interface or USB...I have no idea about that I am absolute newbie in this field.

If you want to use a standard microphone, you will plug it into an interface which will then connect to a computer via USB or Firewire. Some microphones can be plugged directly into a USB port. This might be a good choice for someone who will only be doing podcasting or similar, but it will severely limit you in the future if you want to expand your horizons as you will be stuck with just that one microphone.

GuyWithSocks said:
But I need two microphones, one for me and one for my brother and I have 500 US dollars for that purpose.