New Mic. Noise Problems. Defective unit, or just bad design?

mattlach

Hey all, My first post here.

I recently bought the Audio-Technica ATR2500-usb. I know it is not a high end mic, and I wasnt expecting it to be. I actually wasn't planning on buying a cardoid condenser mic. All I needed was a desktop mic, but since this unit was on sale, and rather cheap, I figured "why not?"

Anyway, I am recording in a silent room (all doors and windows shut, all fans off, including computer fans, and I am getting what I feel is significant noise, but I am not sure since I am new at this, so I figured I'd ask for your opinion.

When I use Audacity to measure the RMS volume and compare it to a track generated with silence, I get a difference of 11.3dB RMS.

Here is a sample I recorded:
(never mind, the site apparently won't let me post links to other websites....)

So I used windows settings to set it to 48Khz, turned the volume up and just recorded, and this is what I wound up with.

What do you guys think.

1.) Should the mic really be this noisy?

2.) If not, is mine defective, should I try to have it replaced?

3.) Or is there something I could have done wrong settings wise that is causing this noise?

Much obliged,
Matt