Need a new mic for male Vocals

WERNER 1

After some of the input from you all in another thread I started recently,... I' ve decided that it's time I buck up for a better vocal mic..

Of the mic's I have now....which are rather limited (SPB1's, SPB3, SPC1, Beta 58's, Beta 57, SM58...) I find my self using the Beta 58 for live vocals and the SPB1 for my studio vocals ...yeah, the B1 instead of the B3 or C1 ...too much high end for my taste in those two...

I think the price point is somewhere between 500 to 800 bucks..... I've been trying to do as much research and thread searching as I can,...but nothing's ever cut and dry to me :( ....

The SM7B has sparked my interest as well as the AKG C414 and AT 4050 .... But I've never used any of those before...

I know this is and every day request around here,...but given the mic's that I like to use now live and in the studio,...that might help narrow the margins a bit (??)

Thanks in advance,
Rick

Yup, I like the big three you've chosen. I'm a sucker for the SM7 but the other two get good press as well. A Studio Project T3 is a nice choice too but it may be a little bright on occasion whereas the SM 7 will never disappoint.