MXL 990 or MXL DRK?

Moon2006

Hope this means something to you guys - im just starting out and want to record some vocals (male, bit lower than average). I was about to buy the MXL 990 and buy a 48v phantom power supply adaptor and buy the cables to plug it in and convert it from XLR to 3.5 for my external sound card but.....
I see the MXL Desktop Recording Kit includes all the essentials as well as a mic-

My question is: How much poorer is the mic with the DRK than the 990 - is it still a decent mic? Without a lot of money would I be better off getting the kit and still be able to get a good quality recording.

Hope someone can help though it might be unlikely that someone has used both. Any advice appreciated

Thanks in advance,

Moon

PS - Im leaning towards getting the kit at the moment - it just seems a lot easier and probably quite a bit cheaper.

My reconsidering

Me again

OK I know i should have done this b4 I posted but I have read nearly everything in the threads about the MXL 990 and I'm certainly not about to rush out and buy either that or the kit (though they're not ruled out).

I'm looking for something that will pick up detail, be crisp but warm - kinda the opposite to what middleman said the MXL 990 wasn't:
"
This is not a ballad mic
This is a loud source mic
It is not subtly responsive
It is not wide ranged
"!
(tell me if this is not totally accurate.)

Maybe this is what everyone is looking for??!! Anyway, something sensitive and smooth but crisp - FOR BALLADS!.

Forgive me if you have just vomited at my stupidity but I have only been investigating mics for about 2 1/2 hours in total and am still very much a learnist.

- now leaning towards a SP C1 or B1 depending on differences

A quick search of the forums here should reveal the most popular mics at various pricepoints (the FAQ is great, too).

Here's a summary:

Sub $100 condensers:
MXL V67g - colored sound, somewhat wooly midrange
Studio Projects B1 - somewhat bright, but fairly natural