Which mics? AKG C3000B,SP C1, or Rode NTK

Flyguylol

Hey all. I'm new to this site, and like what I see so far. I'm just getting my home studio up and running (been a dream of mine for years). From about 6 hours of researching, I've found three mics that seem to be of quality for acoustic guitar and general vocal recording. I'm confused as to which one or ones I should buy. Need your input...

1) AKG C3000B

2) Studio Projects C1

3) Rode NTK

Well Flyguy

I'm not an expert and others will say that the C1 isn't best suited for acoustic guitar and would recomend the T3 but I use the C1 for acoustic and I am really impressed with how my guitar sounds these days. With out a doubt all will tell you it is a great vocal mic! I'm very pleased with my C1 for guitar and for vocals.

Sorry, don't have any experience with the other mics you mentioned.

just my 2cents

I've tried only two of those mics listed, the SP C1 & the Rode NTK and the C1 sounds the best on acoustic. I'd make a sample if I had a decent acoustic guitar with me but I don't.

You should definately go with the C1.

Also look into small "caps" for your acoustic..Oktava MC O12 or a Marshall 603 they are relitivly inexpensive{around $100.00}..I like the sound of small "caps" for acoustic in a mix sometimes much better..They seem to handle the transients{briter percussive sounds}when you are strumming much better..A large "cap"for vocals ...It really depends on your voice all three of the mics you mentioned would be Ok..The NTK is the tube version of the NT1000..See if you like the 1000 also..Also look into the Marshall V67..Its about $150.00 and is pretty good..And look into the KSM27..about $299.00....Happy hunting!

Don

C1

Well, recording acoustic guitar the BEST and vocals the BEST are two different animals.

I have done several mixes with the C1, and have this to offer you: