Microphone technical information query

Linguist

Hi all. I've been lurking in these forums regarding topics about microphone's frequency response, so while my question isn't about home recording, you guys seem to know a lot more about me regarding microphones' technical aspects.

Basically, I'm doing a research project looking at the effect different microphone types have on assessing voice disorders (I'm a speech therapist/pathologist).

I've got a research paper here that talks about different tests the researchers did on microphones. These tests were frequency response, sensitivity, total harmonic distortion (THD), and coherence. I've heard about all of these except the last one, coherence.

I've searched online and can't seem to find anything about microphone coherence. I'm wondering if you guys might know what it is, or if it's a different name for something more common? Or maybe it's something not even specific to microphones, and just electrical in/out devices in general.

I'll paste a quote from the paper that described what coherence is. They don't say much about how they tested it, just that they used white noise stimulus.

Coherence is a frequency-specific measure relating the output of a system to the input at each frequency. The coherence plot displays the degree of linear relationship between the output and the input while the transfer function displays the output as it relates to the input. A coherence value of 1 indicates maximum coherence (minimal distortion), while 0 is the lowest value possible. If the coherence function has a value between 0.9 and 1.0, distortion is assumed to be negligible.

Any help about what this could be would be greatly appreciated.

I've only ever heard of coherence relating to microphones when multiple microphones are in use. Could they be referring to multiple mics (or at least a single stereo microphone)? If not, it's a new on on me.