Microphone stand for Zoom H6 and Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Mic

michaellanfield

A question on microphone stands for Zoom H6 and Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Mic (Scarlett Studio Mic).

What microphone stands and pop filters should I get and at what price range? I am using it for a regular desk that my Macbook Pro sits on. I don't want to spend a fortune, but do have some money to spend on good quality equipment that will last me a long time. I also would like the stand and pop filter to look good if I need to include it in my youtube videos. Sometimes I do not want the mics or equipment to be shown in my videos. The mics will also be used for narration and maybe even vocals.

I am a newbie on these things, though I am somewhat knowledgeable on electronic equipment in general.

Thank you.

Michael...

Just to clarify what your setup is, do you have the the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 bundle which includes the 2i2 interface and the Scarlett Studio mic or do you just have the Scarlett Studio mic that you'll be using with the Zoom H6 or perhaps neither?

- "Sometimes I do not want the mics or equipment to be shown in my videos. The mics will also be used for narration and maybe even vocals."

A mic such as the Scarlett Studio mic may be a bit difficult to keep from view in a video as you normally may be 8" to 12" from it to get good audio quality. I recently went on a quest for a mic that would be good for video and possibly voice over. I narrowed it down to a budget 'shotgun' type mic, an Audio Technica AT875r (found one used to save a few $$$). This mic can be put on a boom stand overhead of the speaker out of view and have fairly good audio quality such as in this Youtube video...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Vrm6NbrCN8 (AT875r with Zoom H4n)
or a bit closer below the chin, which gives more depth to the sound, but still out of frame.....
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H2KQYDH4Wgc