Mic Vs. Mic Comparison - MXL 990/MXL v63M

xeluveitiex

Hi, I'm a newb here but I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out on this microphone purchase. I'm looking to record mainly vocals, and I'm reasonably sure I want one of the following:
MXL V63M - $70
MXL 990/991 Pack - $80
Does anyone have any experience with both of these together? As I said, I'm mainly looking to record vocals, and I know that the V63M would be the better choice in that respect, but I am wondering if the 991 is worth the extra $10 seeing as I am going to be recording acoustic guitar sometime. I have a dynamic mic that works fine for it but I think the 991 would be better. Anyways, my main questions are: Are the V63M and 990 close in quality? and if it's better to go for the 990/991 package, would it be recommended that I get a shockmount for it? I don't really know what those do, but I'd only be using the 990 for vocals.

Edit: Also, sorry for the gratuitously long post, but what is a preamp and do i need one? Right now I just planned on running a mic straight through my Presonus AudioBox USB into my computer.

I got the MXL 990/991 pack as my first mic set, the 990 has been great to me as far as vocals go, I haven't had the need to upgrade to anything else as of yet.

If your going to be recording acoustic guitar I definitely recommend getting the Pack, you can use both of the mics to record at the same time and get much better quality out of your recording, more fullness to it.

Shockmounts are recommended, they just make it so the microphone is separated from the mic stand, so any vibrations or movements from the ground or stand won't transfer to the mic while it is in use.

Quality wise between the two, I couldn't tell you. I haven't used the V63, I just know I am more than satisfied with the 990/91 pack.