Mic for recording violin, acoustic guitar, and vocals

tanders12

My budget is somewhat flexible, but less than $300 for sure. This is my first time setting up a home studio. I'm not looking for anything too fancy, and can upgrade in the future.

I'm planning on buying a USB audio interface.

From the research I've done so far it looks as though something like the Rode NT1 might be a good choice? Or can I get away with something cheaper to start out with?

By the way, I will eventually add piano, electric guitar, cello, and possibly others, but like I said I can upgrade in the future. Violin, acoustic guitar, and vocals are the most important right now.

My research tells me that the Rode NT1A would be an excellent choice, also.
If I could afford to start out with one then I'd be extremely reluctant to go with something cheaper.
Everything I've heard and read tells me that this is the first step up from the typical, less expensive, home recording condenser mics.
One that has good quality, very low self noise and would not be out of place in a professional studio.
Personally, I'm holding off buying any more mics until I can afford something like the AKG 414 (may never happen) but I'm a fan of that particular brand.

Yeah it does seem like a solid choice. Amazon had a nice bundle (pop shield, shock mount) for $200 a few days ago. It's $230 now.

Still open to more suggestions.

I would say that the NT1 should be able to cover those three different sources.

The other possibility would be to get two or three microphones that would specialize at each source. As a great vocal microphone may not be that great with a violin etc.

A MXL V67g would do ya good for vocals coming in at about $80. that still gives you $220. to put towards a small diaphragm condenser microphone.
You can check out a Naiant X S omni Microphone for the violin at about $40. and that still leaves you with $180 for a SDC.
Well a Rode NT5 SDC is $200. for the acoustic guitar.